10,000 Hours of Practice

10,000 Hours of Practice

Just finished an online course ‘How to illustrate children’s books’ taught by a very experienced children’s book illustrator Mr. Will Terry.

I have learnt a lot from the course and I can’t wait to start my own project. The course comprises 8 chapters: book design, storytelling with illustration, character design, illustration design, rendering, working with color, success in the marketplace, and submitting your book. Now I got a basic idea of the publishing process of a Children’s book. I know how a preliminary sketch or idea turns into a physical/ digital book.

Other than the basic knowledge about making a children’s book, he also gave many solid advice from the course. I especially like the ‘character design’ and ‘working with color’. The last two chapters were also very helpful. It’s exactly what I was looking for as someone who wanted to get into the industry but didn’t know where to start. He talked about joining critique groups, going to conference, advertising yourself etc. These are very practical things that one can do as a beginner.

However, before you go out there to meet people, you gotta work on the basics. If you wanna succeed in any field, the key is practice, practice and lots of practice. Well, ‘practice makes perfect’ may not be a new insight, but it’s always easier said than done. In the book Outliers, the author Malcolm Gladwell says that it takes about 10,000 hours of practice to achieve mastery in any field. If you do a little math, it’s approximately 5 years if you do it full time (8 hours a day, 5 work-days a week). I think it will probably take me longer to achieve that level, but I am determined. I have spent long enough to figure out what I really want to do in my life. Now I am ready to go.

Leave a Reply

